Catherine M. Stone

Chief Justice, retired/Shareholder



Langley & Banack, Incorporated

Attorneys and Counselors at Law

745 East Mulberry Avenue | Suite 700 San Antonio, TX 78212

Phone (210) 736-6600 Fax (210) 735-6889

During more than two decades of judicial service on the Texas Fourth Court of Appeals, Catherine Stone adjudicated thousands of appeals in a wide spectrum of legal areas, including personal injury, family law, contract and business disputes, probate and estates, oil and gas, general property disputes, community and non-profit associations, products liability, professional negligence, and employment disputes. Chief Justice Stone is available for ADR services in any of these substantive areas of law.

Board certified in Civil Appellate Law since 1987, Chief Justice Stone is also certified by the American Arbitration Association as an arbitrator and serves on the employment, appellate, and complex and large commercial litigation panels. With her neutral temperament and strong commitment to helping parties efficiently resolve their disputes, she is often called upon to mediate both complex and simple cases. Chief Justice Stone offers mediation, arbitration, and early neutral case evaluation. In addition to her alternative dispute resolution practice, Chief Justice Stone maintains an active appellate practice and was named the 2020 Appellate Lawyer of the Year in San Antonio by Best Lawyers in America peer review.

Practice Areas

- Appellate Law
- Alternative Dispute Resolution
- General Litigation

Education

- St. Mary's University School of Law, J.D., 1982
- Assumption College, B.A. magna cum laude, 1976

Bar Admissions

• State of Texas, 1982

Board Certifications

• Civil Appellate Law, Texas Board of Legal Specialization (1987—present)

Bar and Professional Memberships

- American Arbitration Association
 - o Certified Arbitrator-Employment, Appellate and Complex Commercial Litigation
- Judicial Workplace Arbitrations
 - Certified Arbitrator
- National Association of Women Judges
- Texas Bar Association
 - o Member: Appellate section
 - o Member: Judicial section
 - Member: ADR section
- San Antonio Bar Association
 - o Member: Appellate section
- Mexican American Bar Association of San Antonio
- Bexar County Women's Bar Association
- Maverick County Bar Association
- American Inns of Court, William Session Chapter
 - o Member 1994-2017
- Texas Bar Foundation, Fellow
- San Antonio Bar Foundation, Fellow
- Texas Pattern Jury Charge Oversight Committee
 - o Member: 20
- Texas Supreme Court Task Force on Foster Care
 - o Member: 1997-2007
- Texas Multidistrict Litigation Panel
 - o Member: 2007-2014
- Texas Council of Chief Justices
 - o Member: 2009-2014
 - o Chair: 2011-2013

Civic and Charitable Involvement

- Catholic Charities of San Antonio, Board Member (2010-2018)
- Chrysalis Detention Ministries, Advisory Board Member (2008-2014)
- Interfaith Dialogue Institute, Advisory Board Member (2008-2014)
- St. Luke Catholic Community
 - o Pastoral Council, President (2006-2008)
 - o School Board, Member (1997-2004), President 2003-2004)

Accolades

- Best Lawyers in America, 2018 and 2019
- San Antonio Business Journal Women's Leadership Award, 2018
- San Antonio Business Journal Outstanding Lawyer, 2015
- Joe Frazier Brown Award of Excellence, San Antonio Bar Association, 2015
- San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame, 2015
- Catholic Charities of San Antonio Lifetime of Faith & Service Award, 2014
- Tejano Democrats of Bexar County Hall of Justice Award, 2013

- St. Mary's School of Law Rosewood Gavel Award, 2012
- St. Mary's School of Law Distinguished Law Graduate, 2011
- Dress for Success San Antonio Precious Pearl Award, 2009
- St. Mary's University Hispanic Law Alumni Henry B. Gonzalez Award, 2009
- La Prensa Foundation Outstanding Women in Action Award, 2009
- San Antonio Democratic League Barbara Jordan Public Service Award, 2000, 2006
- Archdiocese of San Antonio Leadership Service Award, 2004
- Texas Business & Professional Women: Texas Woman to Watch Award, 1997
- Northwest Noon Business & Professional Women: San Antonio Woman to Watch Award, 1997